Getting to the Root

149a601e4639a0b3ca38bc36f0b5cff8

 

I found this great article on what we like to call  “emotional eating”; a topic that hits home.

Unfortunately, once this bad habit is developed it is SUPER TRICKY to let go of.

This article is so spot on…and yes, it’s from Yoga Journal. It is full of some honest and motivating insight. I promise you it’s well worth the read.

http://www.yogajournal.com/article/lifestyle/choice-eats/

Below is one of my favorite parts from the article…

“A food’s flavor, texture, and aroma can also provoke intense emotional, physical, and mental responses, and unconsciously dictate your behavior. Walking past a bakery whose yeasty loaves have just come out of the oven can make you salivate at the thought of a thick, steaming slice of bread slathered with butter, and then cause you anxiety as you consider how quickly that smear of butter goes to your hips. In an instant, you’ve cycled from joy to dread. Instead of considering your hunger level or your body’s need for nutrients, you’ve allowed unconscious thought patterns to dictate whether you reach for a loaf. Rather than be awake to the vivid reality of the food in front of you, and of your hunger in any moment, you instead evaluate the food according to your own fears or society’s abstract notions about carbohydrates or fats.

It sheds light on the sad reality that is the food shaming culture we have created for ourselves. We are all brainwashed!!! And it’s silly. Food is supposed to feed us because we were created to eat and enjoy it and to be nourished. But instead we have turned eating into a Psychological Problem.

Stressed? Eat.

Sad? Eat.

Confused? Eat.

Angry? Eat.

Anxious? Eat.

Aren’t you full already? This bad habit is just bringing negative energy into your life.

I speak from personal experience. I used to eat all my feelings right up like a snake swallows a whole rabbit without thought. Like most people, I had a lot of stuff going on in my brain that I didn’t know how to deal with. So I created this terrible habit out of pain and confusion and anxiety. Whether I was trying to lose weight or just maintain weight or “be hot”, the things I ate CONSUMED my thoughts. How many minutes, hours, days did I waste thinking about whether or not something was going to make me “fat”? If I was honest with myself, it’s an astronomical number that I would be ashamed to admit. I was screaming inside. I don’t want to say that I regret these times, because ultimately they led me to this wonderful blessing of healing;but, when I think about all the precious time in my life that I wasted thinking these horribly self-loathing and rather shallow thoughts, I want to go back in time and scream at the top of my lungs to this little girl that was me. I could’ve spent all these hours of beautiful life doing something to make me a smarter, healthier, and drastically cooler person…but instead I chose to spend them thinking about myself in a destructive way.

Which brings me to the root of this article…

Find your Root!

Why do you “emotionally eat?”

Find your truth and work it out. Go to therapy, talk it out. Go to Yoga; Stretch it out; stretch out all the bad experiences that sit in your body. I had a yoga instructor who said that our bodies are like a timeline of our experiences. The negative experiences get stuck inside of you, sitting in your hips, your thighs, your shoulders, your heart. The next thing you know, you’re stuck with this bad habit that you thought would help you deal with your problems(in this case, “emotional eating”).

If you can open yourself up and get to your root, maybe you can get yourself to a healthy place where your mind is calm and your insides are peaceful and you can finally know the truth..which is that you are love. You are enough. And then maybe you won’t want to keep destroying yourself, because who destroys something they love that much?

 

Food is beautiful. Eat it mindfully, happily, healthily, wonderfully.

Namaste.

 

Leave a Reply

