Real Food Daily

Tonight my Friend Rio and I went to Real Food Daily on Santa Monica Blvd.

It’s an amazing  restaurant that specializes in Organic Vegan cuisine; everything is plant-based.

Now, I’m not trying to go vegan…but If I was, this restaurant would be the reason.

Check out their site: http://www.realfood.com/about

Everything is so fresh and unbelievably delicious…even your Southern mother would love it.

Here’s a breakdown of our meal:

Entrée: Caribbean Quesadillas

Island coconut lentil purée, spinach, caramelized onions, pepperjack cheese, corn tortilla with coconut cilantro cashew crème, mango salsa, guacamole, grilled plantains.

….These quesadillas are full of flavor and color and life and texture and have literally EVERY essential quality a fulfilling dish should have. It’s gooey in all the right ways and crispy enough to hold it all together.

I actually tried this for the first time last week and dreamt about it in my sleep last night, which brought me back to this little piece of paradise.

Wins the award for: DREAM FOOD.

Here is a picture:

dsfsd

(I didn’t personally take this picture because I was too busy eating it)

Post Dinner-

Dessert 1: Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp(gluten free)

Topped with a buckwheat walnut streusel and vanilla coconut ice cream.

Wins the award for: THERE’S FRUIT IN MY DESSERT SO IT MUST BE GOOD FOR ME HOLY CRAP THIS IS SO GOOD.

This Is Rio Eating it:

10393720_10204918060054820_674476842566261171_n

AND

Dessert 2:Peanut Butter chocolate milkshake

Made with organic coconut ice cream and hemp milk

Wins the Award for: THE BEST MILKSHAKE I’VE EVER HAD IT MY LIFE,WAIT IS THIS REALLY HAPPENING TO ME?

…I’m not a liar. I actually feel bad for everyone on this earth who hasn’t been blessed with the opportunity to try this milkshake. If you are ever in Los Angeles, I will personally house, clothe, and feed you so that you can enjoy this piece of bliss.

This is me demolishing this piece of heaven on earth:

10659182_10204918059334802_7848889099312925809_n10629846_10204918059374803_8330597564579470998_n10659182_10204918059214799_7532756157593320988_n

Now,  I know what you’re thinking… “blah blah blah, Shut up Lauren, we get it!!” Or something along those lines.

You have to be easy on me; I’m a 21 year old white girl who grew up in suburbia.

I swear…I’m not trying to rub it in your face that I got to eat all this amazing food. I swear.

I’m just passing on a message from the food Gods:

Food from the Earth is beautiful.

Everything I ate tonight was vegan, which means that it contains NO meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, or dairy.

I used to question the veganism thing….but I’m here to tell you now not to knock it before you try it.

If I would have eaten this same exact meal with full fledged cheese, cream, meat, and milk…I would have left feeling heavy and regretful.  No, honestly, I probably would have either thrown up or fallen into a deep coma.

Open your mind to the wonderful opportunities that plant-based cuisine has to offer. I had someone say to me the other day that “Food is the Future”. And it is. We are so lucky to live in a time where people are more knowledgeable about the things they are putting into their bodies…and we have the power to do with this knowledge what we want.

Start by subbing out some of the foods in your life with ingredients made from nuts, seeds, and plants. It’s amazing what you can create with these fresh and simple ingredients.

 

Namaste

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo cred: http://www.foodspotting.com/places/4039-real-food-daily-santa-monica

Leave a Reply

