Sunday is my favorite day

I hit up the Brentwood Farmer’s Market with Brandon yesterday, per usual.

It finally felt like fall was coming;thank god…because I was just about ready to start acting like a schizo homeless man and ripping off all my clothes in the street. After the massive heat wave last week, it felt like there were literally angels in the sky. Not white girl “literally”, but literally angels, floating around…their wings brushing my face as I sucked on fresh peach juice and…HAHA NO POETRY RIGHT NOW. But back to the heat wave. It was terrible and we were all about to murder each other out of rage. So this is me apologizing to everyone that I treated with less respect than usual…it wasn’t me in there; it was a fiery demon that took over my body.

Not going to lie, I didn’t take a lot of pictures; I was way too busy enjoying everything.

…And everything was wild. I’ve never seen the farmers market so colorful and diverse. There were green tea makers from Japan here for the weekend, green beans that were one foot long(each bean) and an assortment of micro-pigs…just because.

Here’s a micro-pig if you have no idea what I’m talking about:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

There exists a godly fruit that is purple and pink, called a dragon fruit; and I finally tried one. It’s such an intense color.My first thought was:

A.This can’t be real.

B. Am I an Avatar?

Here’s a dragon fruit:

dd0be724926f3f098267c46b51d4647b

 

And I got some great food.(And flowers. ALWAYS flowers)

Sunday’s Purchases:

1 Reed Avocado. It’s basically an avocado that is 3x the size of a regular avocado and has a creamier texture.

2 Hass Avocados

1 Lb. string green beans

2 Organic Apples

1 Yellow Peach

1 Mandarin Orange

Yellow Moong Daal Curry

4 Chocolate Chip Chia Seed Cookies. From my girl Nicole at CocoBakes. All Gluten Free-Vegan Products.

3 Flower Arrangements. Todays Colors-Yellow, maroon, and purple. My favorite flower of the three is called a Teddy Bear Sunflower, which is basically a sunflower that is missing the brown center. The name is just a bonus.

 

Sadly…CocoBakes wasn’t selling their ice cream sandwiches, which I was super bummed about. But it gave me a Sunday project, so I made my own using the cookies I bought from their tent, paired with an amazing brand of coconut ice cream called Luna & Larry’s; which I picked up at Whole Foods on the walk back.

All the ingredients are natural, organic, gluten-free, vegan. The coconut milk used to make Luna &Larry’s frozen dessert is flown in from Thailand. So, uh, it’s fancy, huh?

Ahhhhh. Thailand. One day.

609ee51a29469c2eff46942897b42888

But more realistically for the moment:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   Wait, so what’s a chia seed? What’s all the hype? And why is it in my cookie?

Well, here’s a good article that will fill you with knowledge: http://authoritynutrition.com/11-proven-health-benefits-of-chia-seeds/

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, that happened.

So, it appears that the day’s already going pretty amazing:

Weather ✔

Food ✔

Friends ✔

…And then some really cute shit happened. My favorite Swede sent me a video…which I might have requested because I really dig that kind of stuff.

(Side note. Is there anything significantly better than home video? Self-made videos capture life in the very best way. It makes me feel like my life is a holiday commercial for Samsung.)

It was a really great video. And really my only public opinion about this is that, “I like your face. I like it a lot.”

Yesterday was also pretty significant for my yoga practice. I did my first headstand! I stood on my HEAD. Proof that the human body is incredible.

I’m starting to experience how letting go brings some pretty positive stuff into your life.

And with that,

I want to finish off today’s post with a passage from a really inspirational book that I am currently reading called Comfortable with Uncertainty by Buddhist nun, Pema Chodron.

Chapter 6:Loving-Kindness and Meditation

“When we start to meditate or to work with any kind of spiritual discipline, we often think that somehow we’re going to improve, which is a subtle aggression against who we really are…

But loving-kindness,maitri, toward ourselves doesn’t mean getting rid of anything. Maitri means that we can still be crazy, we can still be angry. We can still be timid or jealous or full of feelings of unworthiness. Meditation practice isn’t about trying to throw ourselves away and become something better. It’s about befriending who you are already”.

Chapter 16: The Dharma

“You just practice meditation or you just life your life, and you have insight-a fresh take on what is true. Insight comes suddenly, as though you’ve been wandering around in the dark and someone switches on a light and reveals a palace. It’s been there all along. It feels as if we’ve discovered something that no one else ever knew and yet it’s completely straightforward and simple”.

 

Sundays will carry me through life, I think.

 

Namaste

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Cred: http://hoops4life.com/media/pink-micro-piglets

http://www.jetsetter.com/hotels/thailand/phuket/1087/anantara-phuket-villas?via=pinterest&osocid=pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

